Blogia
Basurde Xiao Long

Entrevista en la revista escolar.

Entrevista en la revista escolar.

ParenTalk es la revista semanal del colegio, con una tirada de unos 3.000 ejemplares. Cada semana publican una entrevista a uno de los nuevos profesores, y este viernes me ha tocado aparecer a mí. Here you are!

 

PARENTALK – Blink

Javier Castro

High School Spanish Teacher

Puxi Campus

What are you reading right now, and briefly, what´s it about?

¨Todo bajo el cielo,¨ -All under the sky, by the Spanish writer Matilde Asensi. It is not translated into English yet. It´s about a Spanish painter who lives in Paris, but had to travel to China (around 1923). That trip is only the beginning of a great adventure around China, looking for the treasure of the First Emperor. It is really addictive, you cannot stop reading it, and it is helping me a lot to learn more about this country and its culture. I found some things very interesting, as that at that time they considered Pudong a bad neighborhood, or that the Yu Yuan Gardens were pretty much abandoned at that decade.

Have you ever met a really famous person? Tell us about it in 50 words or less

I have pictures with Rafael Nadal (right, on the right) and Pau Gasol (L.A. Lakers). One time I talked for a while with a guy in a party in London. After he left a girl came and asked me, all excited, ¨Why do you know Jean Paul Gaultier?¨ Well… I didn´t, I learned about him later.

Are you a morning or evening person? How is that working for you?

Considering that I am Spanish, I need to take my nap in the afternoon. So I am both a morning and evening person… but don´t expect much from me from 3 to 5.

You have been given the week off (not really). What will you do?

An unexpected week off? Well, right away I would connect myself to Skype and start calling my friends who have to work that week.

What is your all-time favorite movie, and why?

Dead Poets Society. It is a great educational movie. ¨I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived¨ (Henry David Thoreau)

Have you ever given a name to your car? What was it? Why?

Yep! When I lived in South Carolina (2001-2005) I was the proud owner of ¨La bala roja,¨ -The red bullet. She was a beautiful red sport BMW 325is, year 1987. It was fast… and that cost me some tickets, oops!

Blink is a weekly feature designed to introduce the SAS community to its new, first-year faculty and staff and to do so in a casual and relaxed format.

1 comentario

A -

!Pelota! ,con lo que te gusto "No country for old men" de los hermanos Cohen;)